Entering the UKELA moots is a great opportunity for those interested in developing their advocacy skills. You don’t have to be an environmental law expert to enter, but you do need to be an enthusiast for mooting. Our thanks to Emily Allbon at City Law School for allowing us to share their resources on mooting. Click here.


2023 Moot competition

We are pleased to announce the opening of entries for the 2023 Environmental Law Moot Competitions sponsored by No5 Chambers and ENDS Report. Our thanks to Richard Kimblin KC for setting the Moot problem and Howard Leithead our Moot Master. This year, semi-finals and finals will return to being in-person at No5 Barristers’ Chambers in London on Thursday 7 December 2023. We are thrilled to confirm that Mr Justice Dove has kindly agreed to judge the finals. You will be able to register to attend the finals nearer the time. Download and share a Flyer about the competition HERE.



  • A trophy for each winning team;
  • £150 from No5 Chambers for each winning team;
  • Free UKELA membership for all finalists for one year; and
  • 3 months free ENDS subscription for the four winners.


How to enter

There are two competitions, if there is any uncertainty as to whether an individual qualifies for either the senior or junior competition, the matter will be referred to the Master of the Moot for a final determination.


The Lord Slynn of Hadley Moot (Senior Competition)

Open to those who, as of 1 September 2023, are in (or have secured but not started) pupillage, a trainee solicitor, on the bar professional training course (BPC) or legal practice course (LPC), or those who have completed the BPC or LPC but have not yet secured a pupillage or training contract.


The Dame Frances Patterson Moot (Junior Competition)

Open to those who, as of 1 September 2023, do not qualify for the Lord Slynn Moot but who are studying for a degree (including a graduate degree eg. LLM or a non-law degree) or taking the GDL. IF you have completed a vocational course (LPC and BPC) you are not eligible to enter the Junior Competition.


Teams (which must consist of two members, but need not be from the same institution) must submit two skeleton arguments, one on behalf of the Appellants, the other the Respondents. Please refer to The Moot Competition Rules for the full details. Skeleton arguments and completed entry forms must be submitted by email by Midday on Monday 6 November 2023Please download all of the following documents:



  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot were Weronika Galka and Lester Ho from University of Oxford
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot were Naomi Kilcoyne and Joshua Hillis from City University London

Watch the senior finals competition HERE 


  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot were Samuel Burns and Charlie Coverman (University of London)
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot were Stephanie Bruce-Smith (University of Law - graduated) and Liam McKenna (University of Oxford - graduated)

Listen to our podcast with moot judge Richard Kimblin KC, speaking with Stephanie and Liam. Thank you to No 5 Chambers. 


  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot were Jennifer Edwards and James Heald (Bristol University of Law)
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot were Joe Broadway and James Harrison (BPP Bristol)


  • Winners of the Dame Frances Patterson (Junior) Moot winners were James Harrison and Melissa Wilson (BPP Law School and University of Cambridge).
  • Winners of the Lord Slynn (Senior) Moot winners were Jennifer Routledge and Abigail Scott (Birmingham University and Nottingham Trent University).